Main Menu

Quick Menu

Visitation Catholic

A Diverse & Vibrant Community of Young Learners

School Commission

The overall purpose of the school commission is to advise and support the pastor and principal in the operation of the parish school. School Commissions may be responsible for the following:

  • Assessing the needs of the school community;
  • Evaluating the effectiveness of the school in performing its educational and formational missions;
  • Recommending policies and conducting strategic planning for school operations;
  • Collaborating with the pastor and principal in educating the parish as a whole about the importance of the school, while building a sense of connection with the overall parish mission;
  • Collaborating with the pastor and principal in educating other parishes about the school’s mission;
  • Working collaboratively with the pastoral council and other consultative bodies.

Membership Composition

  • A diverse group that reflects the composition of the parish and the school;
  • A non-Catholic parent may be eligible to serve.

Archdiocese of Seattle. (n.d.). Many Gifts: Consultative Leadership (Revised Edition, 1008).

2020/2021 Commission Members

Elisabeth Albers, Corporate Relations Associate, Point Defiance Zoo & Aquarium, Former VCSA parent

Sandra Barton Smith, Assistant Superintendent for Mission & Catholic Identity, Office of Catholic Schools

Jody DeGroot, Vice Principal, Bellarmine Preparatory School

Casey Dunn, Analyst, Clarity Insights

Chris Gavin, Principal, St. Patrick School, Tacoma

Mike HemmerMember of Archdiocesan of Seattle School Board

Mike HoltenSTEM Specialist, Puyallup School District

Stephanie Johnson, 2020/2021 PTO Co-President, School Parent

David Mayer, Assistant Superintendent, Director of Early Childhood Education

Kathleen Mercer, Vice Principal, St. Charles Borromeo

Romela Neal, School Parent

Felix LakoSchool Parent

Allison Santos, School Parent

Enrique Urrieta, School Parent


Ad Hoc Members

Fr. Martin Bourke, Pastor, Visitation Parish

Heather Liufau, Bookkeeper, Visitation STEM Academy

Marc Nuno, Principal, Visitation STEM Academy